PRW 2021 Activities

There is a lot to look forward to this Peer Review Week. Have an activity to add to the list? Enter it in our Google form, and we’ll be glad to include it!

Table of Contents

Online Events

BLOGs

VIDEOS

other online publications (e-books, online guides, editorials, protocols, and data sets)

Other Activities (Quizzes, Surveys, Podcasts, and Audio Clips)

Online Events

Monday, September 20th

Exploring identities in peer review: A look at author, reviewer, and journal perspectives
Webinar by Editage
5:00 AM US-EST / 9:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM BST

Introducing Peer Review
Webinar by Charlesworth Author Services
7:00 AM US-EST / 11:00 AM GMT / 12:00 PM BST

EASE panel discussion for Peer Review Week 2021
Online event by EASE
8:00 AM US-EST / 12:00 PM GMT / 1:00 PM BST

Celebrating Peer Review
Online event by The Lancet
11:00 AM EST / 3:00 PM GMT / 4:00 PM BST

Twitter chat with the journal CHEST
Online event by the journal Chest
(Throughout the week, the journal CHEST will be tweeting questions relating to the topic of Peer Review and responses received from many of the journal’s peer reviewers)

Tuesday, September 21st

Virtual Panel: Finding a Place in the Peer Review Process
Online event by the Peer Review Week Steering Committee
9:00 AM US-EST / 1:00 PM GMT / 2:00 PM BST

Ask the Experts: Identity in Peer Review
Webinar by Charlesworth Author Services
9:00 AM US-EST / 1:00 PM GMT / 2:00 PM BST

Author and reviewer experiences: Building a bridge of empathy
Webinar by Editage
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

Diversity in Peer Review
Online event by The Lancet 
11:00 AM EST / 3:00 PM GMT / 4:00 PM BST

What role are Early Career Researchers playing in peer review, and what role should they play?
Twitter chat by Lightoller, LLC 
12:00 PM US-EST / 4:00 PM GMT / 5:00 PM BST

ORCID Workshop for Researchers: Update your ORCID Record to Save Time and Get Credit in Funding Applications, Research Reporting, and Publishing
Online event by Lyrasis
2:00 PM US-EST / 6:00 PM GMT / 7:00 PM BST

Effective Peer Review
Online event by ASLO
2:00 PM US-EST / 6:00 PM GMT / 7:00 PM BST

CSE Connect
Online Event by the Council of Science Editors
2:00 PM US-EST / 6:00 PM GMT / 7:00 PM BST

TAA Committee for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Town Hall on Peer Review
Online Event by the Textbook & Academic Authors Association
4:00 PM US-EST / 8:00 PM GMT / 9:00 PM BST

Wednesday, September 22nd

Behind the scenes of peer review
Online event by the South African Journal of Science
4:00 AM US-EST / 8:00 AM GMT / 9:00 AM BST

Things You Need to Know About Peer Review
Online event by Charlesworth Author Services
5:00 AM US-EST / 9:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM BST

The Stages of Peer Review
Webinar by Charlesworth Author Services
7:00 AM US-EST / 11:00 AM GMT / 12:00 PM BST

Launching ‘Review Assistant’: An AI-powered Tool for Peer Reviewers
Online event by Enago
8:30 AM US-EST / 12:30 PM GMT / 1:30 PM BST

Openness or Confidentiality in Peer Review
Online event by The American Physical Society
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

African Perspectives on Peer Review: a Roundtable Discussion
Online event by AfricArXiv, Eider Africa, TCC Africa, and PREreview
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

Behind the scenes: How a peer reviewer reviews a manuscript
Webinar by Editage
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

Identity in Peer Review
Online event by Sense about Science and IOP Publishing
10 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

Connecting Mosaics of Scholarly Identity Through Metadata: The Roles of Publishers and Service Providers
Online event by Scholastica
10:30 AM US-EST / 2:30 PM GMT / 3:30 PM BST

Peer Review in Blockchain Research 
Online event by The JBBA
11:00 AM US-EST / 3:00 PM GMT / 4:00 PM BST

Finding the Right Peer Reviewers
Online event by Altum
2:00 PM US-EST / 6:00 PM GMT / 7:00 PM BST

Thursday, September 23rd

Does Recognition Strengthen Peer Reviewer Identity?
Online event by ReviewerCredits and Edanz
4:00 AM US-EST / 8:00 AM GMT / 9:00 AM BST

The Future of Preprint Peer Review
Online event by EMBL-EBI and Europe PMC
5:00 AM US-EST / 9:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM BST

Peer Reviewers and Transparency in Peer Review
Webinar by Charlesworth Author Services
7:00 AM US-EST / 11:00 AM GMT / 12:00 PM BST

Should early career researchers be appointed as peer reviewers
Webinar by Editage
8:30 AM US-EST / 12:30 PM GMT / 1:30 PM BST

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Scholarly Publishing
Online event by Aries Systems
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

A researcher’s guide to navigating peer review
Webinar by Luigi Longobardi for AIP Publishing
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

Lived Experience in Peer Review
Online event by The Lancet
11:00 AM EST / 3:00 PM GMT / 4:00 PM BST

Good Peer Review With All Aspects
Online event by EASE, Turkish Regional Chapter Panel 
12:00 PM EST / 4:00 PM GMT / 5:00 AM BST

The Road to Double-Anonymous Peer Review: From Idealization to Implementation
By the Council of Science Editors
3:00 PM US-EST / 7:00 PM GMT / 8:00 PM BST

ISMTE Peer Review Week Early Career Meet Up
Online event by ISMTE
7:00 PM EST / 11 PM GMT / 12:00 AM BST

Friday, September 24th

A talk Cum Discussion on Identity in Peer Review
Online event by Chitkara University Publications
2:30 AM EST / 4:30 AM GMT / 5:30 AM BST

Responding to Revise-and-Resubmit and Rejection
Webinar by Charlesworth Author Services
7:00 AM EST / 11 AM GMT / 12:00 PM BST

Peer Review and the Pandemic
Twitter chat by F1000Research
9:00 AM US-EST / 1:00 PM GMT / 2:00 PM BST

Identity in Research Infrastructure: An Overview of How Identity Is Managed in Scholarly Infrastructure
Online event by HighWire
9:30 AM US-EST / 1:30 PM GMT / 2:30 PM BST

Does WHO You Are Influence HOW You Conduct Peer Review?
Webinar by Editage
10:00 AM US-EST / 2:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM BST

Blog Posts

Including and valuing postdocs in peer review
Blog post by Gary McDowell of Lightoller, LLC

Peer Review Week 2021 – KeAi reviewers share their thoughts on this year’s theme
Blog by KeAi – publishing company

Peer Review Week 2021: Interview with Craig S. Anderson
Blog by Karger Publishing

The Case for Open Peer Review
Blog by kriyadocs

Embracing the role of the reviewer: developing diverse, equitable, and inclusive peer review teams
Blog by SAGE Publishing

Peer Review Week 2021: Identity in Peer Review
Blog by Simon Linacre of Cabells

One Nation, One Subscription
Blog by Penprints Publication

Prepublication Peer Review: An Underutilized Research Scrutiny Tool 
Blog by Tamer El-Sobky, Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, Consultant Pediatric Orthopedics

What’s Transparent Peer Review and How Can it Benefit You?
Blog by Helen Eassom, Wiley

10 Things You Need to Know Before You Peer Review
Blog by Wiley

Role of Identity in Peer Review- Moving Towards a Reliable System
Blog by Enago

Peer Review Survey: Reporting Your Experiences
Blog by the Royal Society

Blog post series about “Identity in Peer Review”
Blog by Alexandra Hinz of De Gruyter
(Look for blog posts after 9/20/2021)

The case for more diversity in peer review
Blog by Elsevier
(Available as of 9/20/2021)

My Journey through Peer Review Week 2021
Blog by Jayanthiny Kangatharan (European Acoustics Association)
(Available as of 9/21/2021)

Peer Review Diversity in Action
Blog by Elsevier
(Available as of 9/21/2021)

Open Reviewer Identities: Full Steam Ahead or Proceed with Caution?
Blog by Veronique Kiermer and Alison Mudditt for Scholarly Kitchen
(Available as of 9/21/2021)

How to Make Peer Review More Diverse and Inclusive
Blog by Medical Research Council
(Available as of 9/22/2021)

The How and the Why of Collecting Identity Data
Blog by Kristen Overstreet from Origin Reports
(Available as of 9/22/2021)

How to improve reviewer diversity? A toolkit for editors-Part I
Blog by Elsevier
(Available as of 9/22/2021)

How to improve reviewer diversity? A toolkit for editors-Part II
Blog by Elsevier
(Available as of 9/23/2021)

Introducing Open Peer Review Content in the Web of Science
(Available as of 9/23/2021)

Videos

To Unmask “Identity in Peer Review” or Not?
Series of Videos by Enago
A series of eight videos on one page. Titles include: Moving Toward a Reliable Peer Reviewed System; An Ideal Peer Review System; Anonymous Peer-Reviewing; Perks of a Double-Blinded System; It’s a Practice of Ethics; Advantages of Revealing Identities; No Conflict of Interest; and Identity in Peer Review

Peer Review and Data Validation 
Recorded webinar/video by CITI Program
(Available for viewing as of September 20th)

Get Answers to All the Prevalent Questions Related to “Identity in Peer Review”
Video by Enago 
(Available for viewing as of September 20th)

Running a Great Grant Peer Review
Video by Altum 
(Complete the form to receive the replay video link)

Select Crowd Review: Enabling the Intelligence of the Crowd to Review Scientific Papers Faster and Better
Video by Filestage

Increasing Transparency and Trust in Preprints: Steps Journals Can Take
Free recorded webinar by Scholastica

Transparent Peer Review
Video by Wiley

IJSPT Reviewer Workshop
Video by The International Journal of Sports Physical Therapy (IJSPT)

AGU Co-Reviewing Webinar
Video by the American Geophysical Union

Peer Review Week 2021: Interview with Craig S. Anderson
Video by by Karger Publishing

Advancing the Science of Scientific Publishing – Peer Review Congress 
Virtual symposium recording by JAMA Network

Performing Scientific Peer Review
Recorded online training course by Karger Publishing

Other Online Publications

(E-books, online guides, editorials, protocols, articles and data sets)

Open Peer Review Data Sets
Data sets by The American Institute of Biological Sciences (for peer review researchers)

Journal Management Best Practices: Tales from the Trenches
Learn how to refine your journal’s peer review processes, attract more quality submissions, make actionable strategic plans to further your publishing goals, and more in this free eGuide from Scholastica.

Peer Review: The Nuts and Bolts
Downloadable online guide by Sense About Science

Peer Review Week, 2021
Editorial by Dianne King-McGavin for American Journal of Physiology

5 Steps to Running a Successful Grant Peer Review
E-book by Altum

Guide to Managing Peer Reviewers: Journal Editor Training Course
This Scholastica editor training course covers how to develop a reviewer management plan to improve the experience of peer reviewers working with your academic journal(s).

Ants-Review: A Privacy-Oriented Protocol for Incentivized Open Peer Reviews on Ethereum
Protocol by Bianca Trovò and Nazzareno Massari

Ninth International Congress on Peer Review and Scientific Publication: Call for Abstracts
Editorial by John P. A. Ioannidis, MD, DSc, et al. Published by JAMA Network

Peer reviewing made easier: your questions answered
Article by Royal College of Psychiatrists / BJPsych Advances

Other Activities

(Quizzes, Surveys, Podcasts, and Audio Clips)

Peer Review Week Quiz
Online quiz by KnE Publishing

COPE Peer Review Diversity Survey 2021
Survey by COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics)

“Politics in Peer Review”
Podcast by Jasmine Wallace and Carolyn deCourt for the Council of Science Editors

Every Action Counts: The Importance of Building an Inclusive Reviewer Pool
Audio clip by Mare Meadows at Wiley

Do you have an activity to add to the list?

Enter it in our Google form and we’ll be glad to include it!